It is a cold rainy day here in the San Francisco Bay Area.  Snow is falling in the Sierras, puddles are forming in my backyard, and leaves cover my front yard.  If I was wondering, yes, Fall has arrived and Thanksgiving is knocking on our door.

Like most people, the Thanksgiving holiday helps me to reflect on how good I have it.  My immediate family is healthy and for the most part in good spirits.  My wife’s and my siblings and parents are all doing well.  It will be great to see everyone next week as we celebrate Thanksgiving.  We have now settled into a tradition where we celebrate Thanksgiving over two days.  First is Thanksgiving with my in-laws on Thursday then we celebrate with my side of the family on Friday.  We started this new two day tradition several years ago.  It really relieves the pressure of having to jump between two houses.  It also allows us to enjoy each meal as we don’t have to save room for another meal.  In the coming days, I will be making my wine selection for both meals.  As my in-laws tend to be more of the wine drinkers, I will likely bring home a magnum that I have been cellaring for a few years.  The larger bottle seems a bit more celebratory.

Beyond family and friends, I have a lot more to be thankful.  Fortunately, Uncorked Ventures first year in operation has gone relatively well.  Having launched the new business in January, our business has grown slowly but steadily over the last 11 months.  The outpouring of support we received from family,  friends and former co-workers helped to kick-start our wine club sales.  Going into business with my brother-in-law Mark was not a decision I entered into lightly.  Over the last 11 months, my brother-in-law has been a valuable partner, confident and friend.  I clearly made a good decision and look forward to working with him in the coming years.  With regards to starting Uncorked Ventures, I am also thankful to have a wife who has supported my desire to strike out as an entrepreneur.  With a mortgage to pay and kids’ college funds to save for, she has let me take this risk and pursue a dream even in this shrunken economy.

As we near the Thanksgiving holiday, I hope you take time to reflect on what it is you have to be thankful for.  I am going back to cleaning out my closet and chest of drawers, searching for items that I am not making the most of but someone who is less fortunate will.

Take care.

